The world’s best club sandwich


I’ve just eaten one-quarter of the world’s best and most authentic club sandwich. My only wish is that I had taken the photo before I started to eat it, so everyone could see what the world’s best club sandwich should look like: a  glorious presentation  on a delicate floral china plate, with a crisp pickle spear, and crunchy chips heaped in the center. Really, this is how it should be, but nowadays seldom is. What most restaurants (and by most I mean the dominant American restaurants, the dreaded chain restaurants) pass off as a club sandwich is this: toasted bread, only two layers, thinly sliced deli turkey, bacon, greenhouse tomatoes, and, the worst insult ever, American cheese. No, no no. A club sandwich should be like this one: a triple-decker sandwich with  thick slabs of real white meat turkey, juicy vine-ripened tomatoes, crisp green Romaine lettuce, bacon, and never, ever, ever, cheese.

So where did I find the world’s best club sandwich? I’m sitting in the waterfront dining area of The Carriage House, a charming Mackinac Island restaurant snuggled so close to the Hotel Iroquois that we almost didn’t find  it. We discovered it on a nighttime walk, snooped around the back, saw the waterfront seating area, and decided to come back during the daytime for lunch. Besides a great atmosphere and the world’s best club sandwich, we had a terrific view of the harbor, Victorian homes on the east bluff, and a pair  parasailing. What could be a better lunch than that?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

© Huffygirl 2011

17 thoughts on “The world’s best club sandwich

  1. I always refuse cheese on a club sandwich. In fact, lately, so many servers are asking me if I want cheese, on things like beef dip sandwich, for heaven’s sake, that I’m starting to wonder if restaurants get a bonus for pushing cheese.

    • I think they must. I’m really getting sick of the whole cheese thing myself – I’ve already blogged about it once so I’ll have to hold myself back. And it’s not even real cheese – so called “American cheese” is processed cheese-like food.

  2. Pingback: Celebrating good old-fashioned grilled cheese | Huffygirl's Blog

  3. Pingback: Night Riders: Cycling Mackinac Island after dark | Huffygirl's Blog

  4. Pingback: Island vacation: View from the porch | Huffygirl's Blog

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.