The Search for a Warm Coat, Part Deux


Zipper animation

Image via Wikipedia

Round two: The Online Search

I begin my online search at the ever-popular retailer described as an “outdoor outfitter” which for the sake of confidentiality, I’ll call Ebbie Dauer. I’ve had bad luck with the fit of their clothes before and have sworn them off more than once, but since they claim to be an”outdoor outfitter” decide to give them one more try. I order two coats – a lightweight down jacket and a short parka. It takes forever for the package to arrive (which is why this story has been in limbo.) The so-called down jacket which is touted to be good to 30 degrees is very lightweight, with no lining, and for me would be akin to wearing a nylon shell. I put it immediately into the “return” pile.

The parka seems pretty warm – I’m impressed. It is down-filled, has a plush furry lining in the upper part of the jacket and furry-lined pockets. The hood is big and awkward with a mass of goofy-looking fur trim, which fortunately is detachable. Then I try it on. It turns out to be very fitted and I discover that I’m STILL have trouble with the fit of Eddie Bauer, oops I mean Ebbie Dauer clothes. I can zip it up but it’s a close fit – I’ll never be able to wear a sweater under this coat, and I never leave the house in winter without wearing a sweater, so this too goes into the return pile. I also don’t really like the styling – it’s a pretty expensive coat, but it looks like a skiing parka, with lots of extra pockets, zippers and appurtenances. And it doesn’t have a two-way zipper which I consider a major deficiency in any coat with a zipper. How are you supposed to sit down in the coat without being able to unzip the bottom? This is especially important to short people, because the coats always come down lower on us than they do on our tall counterparts.

Next I look online at Land’s End (I’ll skip the pretense of giving the retailers made up names now.) I find a coat very similar to the one I’ve just rejected. It is a short down parka, but looks a little more stylish, lacks the silly appurtenances, AND has a two-way zipper. Also it’s $79 less than the similar version at EB. It claims to be warm down to 0 to -20 degrees, but I always add at least 30 degrees to that claim, which brings it up to 10-30 degrees, which is probably about as good as I can get. So I place the order, and round three begins.

http://www.eddiebauer.com/catalog/product.jsp?ensembleId=35642&&categoryId=21153&categoryName=JACKETS-COATS–PARKAS&pCategoryId=27301&pCategoryName=WOMENS-OUTERWEAR&gpCategoryId=1&gpCategoryName=EB&catPath=~~categoryId=21153~~categoryName=JACKETS-COATS–PARKAS~~pCategoryId=27301~~pCategoryName=WOMENS-OUTERWEAR~~gpCategoryId=1~~gpCategoryName=EB&viewAll=y

http://www.eddiebauer.com/catalog/product.jsp?ensembleId=36004&&categoryId=21153&categoryName=JACKETS-COATS–PARKAS&pCategoryId=27301&pCategoryName=WOMENS-OUTERWEAR&gpCategoryId=1&gpCategoryName=EB&catPath=~~categoryId=21153~~categoryName=JACKETS-COATS–PARKAS~~pCategoryId=27301~~pCategoryName=WOMENS-OUTERWEAR~~gpCategoryId=1~~gpCategoryName=EB&viewAll=y

© The author and Huffygirl’s Blog, 2010 to 3010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to the author and Huffygirl’s Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

