The WordPress Challenge: A post a day in 2011


Huffygirl, WordPress Blogger (Photo credit: Huffygirl)

WordPress (the platform that supports this blog and 266,000 + other bloggers) has announced a new challenge to their bloggers. Yes, they’ve actually double-dog-dared us to post every day in 2011. (That’s 365 posts in one year, for the mathematically challenged.) And the alternative challenge, for those who find that too daunting – post once a week (aka 52 posts in one year) for 2011.

So, what’s a huffygirl to do? I already blog more than once a week. I average about 13-15 per month, or about twice a week, although sometimes more, sometimes less. So once a week is no challenge for me. But every day – probably a little too much. I don’t want to write some slap-dash drivel, just to say that I posted something that day. After all, my tagline is: “Laugh. Cry. Think. Learn. Lighthearted musings about wellness and life,” just in case you never noticed that on the top left-hand corner of my blog :). I want what I write to meet those guidelines. I don’t want my readers wasting their time reading nonsense.

So I accept the WordPress double-dog-dare challenge with a counter challenge of my own. I will post a blog more than twice a week, but less than seven days a week, for 2011. And I promise to not post any poorly written drivel just so I can check off “blogging” on my to-do list each day. This is the first one for 2011. Let’s see how the rest of the year goes.

8 thoughts on “The WordPress Challenge: A post a day in 2011

  1. I’ll look forward to them, HuffyGirl.

    I can’t imagine blogging every day. I think I’ve been posting about once a week. Maybe I’ll try to increase that to two per week. But my priority right now is finishing my next novel.

    • Good for you. I think the novel should be the priority. I had aspirations to write a novel, wrote two chapters and discovered how hard it really is.

      I think blogging every day it too much for me as well, which is why I’m aiming for about 3 times a week, which is about what I’m doing now. I don’t want to write just to write – I want it to have some meaning.

  2. I’m with you, Huffy Girl. I tried posting everyday in the beginning, but like you said, better to put out the good stuff when it strikes than to drivel on about any old thing. I wonder why WP thinks daily blogging is a good thing. I suppose they benefit somehow?
    I too thank you for putting me on your blogroll, I am flattered.

    • You’re very welcome Zahara.

      I think WordPress must be trying to boost revenue – more blogs + more readers = more ad revenue? Most of the WP blogs I read do not have ads on them, so I’m not sure if this is the reason.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

