Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia


The Huffys in 1974.

The Huffys in 1974.

The Huffys, 39 years later.

The Huffys, 39 years later.

Today’s photo theme is perfect for me. I’m feeling a little nostalgic because 39 years  ago today I married Best Husband. He has indeed been the best (and only) husband I’ve had, and we’re both glad that we’ve stuck together these past 39 years.

Although it doesn’t seem like that long ago, things have changed a lot since we posed for that photo in our horrible 70’s clothing. Gas was about 20 cents a gallon, and folks were getting used to this new kind of gas called unleaded. The Viet Nam War was still raging and Americans were still protesting. President Nixon was close to resignation. Most goods sold in the US were manufactured here. People worked for the same company most of their lives, retired at 65, and died a few years later. Seventy-five percent of the US population smoked, and no one stood outside to do it. Words like outsourcing, networking and texting did not exist. Most women chose homemaking over the workplace. Blow dryers, cell phones and home computers were still a long way off. Most TVs received two to three channels, unless you opted to pay extra for a new-fangled thing called cable.  No one had anything digital, except the ten things on the end of their hands. And lest you think I’m 100 years old, all of this nostalgia was really only 39 years ago.

© Huffygirl 2013

33 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia

  1. Isn’t this a great theme! I love seeing your photos. Very sweet and fun. It’s hilarious to think that all that nostalgia is only 39 years old. Oh my… Thanks for sharing your pics and thoughts.

      • I’m not sure how much smarter I am, but certainly less rebellious. I’m no longer reader to gallop into the world on my white charger, ready to save it (the world, I mean, not the charger). Along the way, I somehow discovered that I have to save myself first lol

      • Well, one person can’t save the world all by themselves anyway Sandra. Although, you might think about writing a novel about it…Aren’t you about due for another one? 🙂

  2. Congrats to you both on your journey together. My husband and I married in 1971, 42 years ago. I think we all expected our mariages to last back then, don’t you

    • Thank you so much Val. I agree – most folks went into marriage with a different mindset towards commitment back then, and for many people that worked just fine.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Nostalgia | Mike Hardisty Photography

    • Why thanks Jean. We hope the years have not been too hard on us. We do both like cycling – Best Husband started first and I started later, as we found it’s a great activity we can do together.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

