View from the end of summer


Two trees frame an azure pool,

One beacon guides us safely home.

One tree kisses the glowing sky,

And one moon rises over wherever we roam.

This is the end of my “View from the…” Michigan vacation photo series. I’ll be back to blogging my usual mix of musing, rants, photos, and satire by the end of the week. Meanwhile, I hope you check out this amazing photo story by fellow Michigan blogger,  White Pine Photo, of his once-in-a-lifetime climb to the top of the Mackinac Bridge. The photos are glorious – my heart was racing as I scrolled through, with palms as sweaty as if I were up there in person. This trip to the top of the Mackinac Bridge is a great wind-up to a pure Michigan summer. Just click the link below, or visit White Pine Photo from my Blogroll.

Climbing the Mackinac Bridge (whitepinephoto.wordpress.com)

1. Mackinac Island, bluff overlooking Lake Michigan.

2. Round Island Lighthouse, Mackinac Island.

3. Lone tree, Mackinac Island, Round Island in distance.

4. Moonrise over airport, Mackinac Island.

 

© Huffygirl 2012

16 thoughts on “View from the end of summer

    • This is Round Island lighthouse which is off of Bois Blanc Island just off the coast of Mackinac Island. The ferry boats pass right by it. I’ve photographed many lighthouses in Michigan and Wisconsin, and I’ve found this one to be one of the most photogenic and somewhat mysterious. As far as I know, it is only accessible by boat, so I’ve never been up next to it.

    • Thanks Sharon. I felt the same way about the Mackinac bridge photo story. I have walked on the Mackinac bridge, as it’s open for walking once a year on Labor Day. I’ve stood next to the tower where he stood and started his climb – just looking up at it is dizzying and terrifying to me to think of being up there. But what a great view at the top.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

