Run Diary Part I


I used to be a runner. I use that term rather loosely. Probably a more apt description would be that I used to be a person who ran a little bit. I never really got all that fit, but after several months, was able to run a mile in a blazing 10 minutes. I ran my first and last 5 K race at age 28, then a few months later, quit running. At that time I quit, I was getting arthritis; I was tired and everything hurt. Running just wasn’t fitting in with this, and the demands of a family with small kids. So I quit. I tried other things over the years. Finally a few years ago, I settled on biking, which helped me become fit, and was  enjoyable, but still was not running.

Lately, now some 30 years later, like a fickle mistress, the running bug has bitten again.  Yes, I said 30 years. I should be thinking about applying for Medicare, not running.

I ran the idea up a few flagpoles, but no one saluted. My bike guru said, “well, you do have that arthritis, just sayin…” My husband hemmed and hawed and didn’t want to come right out and say no, because after all he’s my husband. The girls at work said “‘Do you REALLY think that’s a good idea?” And so it went from everyone I asked. So, naturally, I gave it a try.

This is NOT my arm.

To be continued.

© Huffygirl 2012

Related links:

21 thoughts on “Run Diary Part I

  1. Good for you! I love running! I have been a runner since my early twenties and now it is my only way of keeping sane. I also feel that it really keeps you feeling young, especially when you get that runners high. I have a great role model to look up to as well. My dad who is 69 and still beats me and I’m not that slow.
    I hope to be just like him, running well into my sixties. Great post!!!!

    • Thanks Thirdeye! Good for your dad. I looked at the race results from my recent run (see part II, coming up Friday) and saw many runners in their 70’s and 80’s with impressive times, many running the marathon and half-marathon too. Something about being part of that running community is so alluring – so much so that I had to try it again.

  2. Huffy, please tell me I am misreading that watch and you are not running for two hours at a time!! My mantra when it comes to running is slow and steady and whether it’s 25 minutes or 45 minutes, I try to congratulate myself for DOING IT! Have fun… and don’t get hurt. Running is the best (although I know I’m talking to a cyclist!)

    • Don’t worry Suzanne – that time on the watch was from one of my bike rides. If I could run that far at once, well, guess I wouldn’t be writing this, I’d be too busy out doing marathons. BTW, that hairy arm wearing the watch is not mine – it’s my son’s (I probably should have put that disclaimer on the photo – now I’ll probably be known as “Huffygirl, world’s hairiest womaan”!

      • hahahaha… i have to admit, i did think you were rather hirsute for a woman!! my best marathon time was 3:09 (chicago) which is blazing fast, but now it’s 15 years and two kids later and it makes me tired just THINKING about doing one. Maybe I’ll take up cycling instead! (:

      • 3:09 marathon – impressive. You must still be running though? It’s too fickle a mistress to give up I think. But the cycling is great too – there just are not as many opportunities to prove yourself among thousands of other people.

  3. Good for you! I think it’s good to cross train. Often a short run works instead of a bike ride. Less to prepare and you can go a mile or 2 and feel like you’ve exercised. But I agree– I much prefer the biking to running. Now I try to run about 3 miles once a week just to meet up with a friend.

    • Sounds like a good plan Lisa. I think I’ll either end up giving up the running altogether, or strike a happy medium like 2 miles twice a week. I’m still in the exploratory stages and want to see how long it takes to recover right now. Oooh, don’t want to give anything away on part II yet.

  4. You are an athlete, HG, and you know your body will tell you when it’s had enough. As long as you follow good guidelines on how to build up your endurance, I think you will be fine. My daughter was never an athlete, yet she took up running about two years ago at the age of 37. She will never be great at it, but she has run several 5K’s and is training for a half marathon. I have no doubt she’ll do it, as I have no doubt you will do it, too. Um…you did say you are 39 or so, right?

  5. Pingback: Title IX turns 40 | Huffygirl's Blog

  6. Pingback: Christopher McDougall and me: Born to run, or not? | Huffygirl's Blog

  7. Pingback: Run Camp | Huffygirl's Blog

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

