Little bagels? I think not.


Okay, a week ago I didn’t know what a Baggallini was. Last week, while shopping with my sister-in-law who is getting ready for an out of country adventure, she suddenly went into a fit of excitement when she saw a sign outside a store proclaiming that they carried Baggallini. All bets were off as we headed inside. Haplessly, I followed, wondering why anyone would be that excited about miniature bagels. Then, I found out.

Turns out that Baggallini is not a little bagel, but  a whole line of practical and unique purses. But these aren’t just purses – they’re useful purses, with cross-body straps, appurtenances, and zippered pockets. Made of sturdy, lightweight nylon material, Baggallini are designed by flight attendants. Who better to know what kinds of zippers and pockets one needs to make a purse actually useful, especially for travel? But Baggallini are stylish enough to use every day, not just for travel, although Stacy and Clinton, who insist that one’s purse must match one’s outfit, might not agree.

I had been looking for a cross-body purse ever since I had shoulder surgery in January. I still can’t carry a purse on my right shoulder, or anything else for that matter, so I’ve been schlepping around for two and a half  months trying to carry everything in one arm. Hoisting around my somewhat stylish, but way too heavy purse, did not help. Besides carrying the  floppy, heavy purse on my left arm, I was carrying my brief case, lunch bag, extra sweater, papers for work and my other extra sweater. (Okay, so I admit it: I wear two sweaters.) Getting anything out of my purse, unlocking doors, or doing much of anything was difficult. I had searched the major department stores for a cross-body purse that would hold the essentials, yet still be somewhat stylish, to no avail. Everything I found was either too big, too small, too expensive, or just not practical.

But not anymore. The Baggallini is a little small, but I think will do. I had to sacrifice a few things from my old heavy purse to get the essentials in. Extra change, a pack of gum, a few credit cards I never use, checkbook, and a smashed Luna bar wait forlornly in the bottom of my heavy old purse. Maybe I’ll regret not having the Luna bar, but the rest I can probably do without. All in the name of carrying a lighter, efficient purse that doesn’t hurt my poor old shoulder.

Goodbye heavy purse. Hello Baggallini.

© Huffygirl

Disclaimer: This is not an ad for Baggallini. It’s just that I’m so darn excited about my efficient new purse!

Huffygirl does not endorse Baggallini or any other products, nor does she receive any incentives for writing about Baggallini.

Related link:

19 thoughts on “Little bagels? I think not.

    • I bet you’d get the hang of it in no time Gilly. Plus, they are so easy to use get into that even if you have to search through all the zipper pockets, you can do it with one hand!

    • I love these cute little bags. Yet very stylish inside and out. Looks little..but big enough to put your travel items in..When I travel I love these bags. Anna Torre Rocky Point Ny

  1. Glad you like your Baggallini. Your readers may want to know that they come in all sizes. I found a fabulous overnight bag at a store in my home town. It was round and reminiscent of early carry-on luggage flight attendants might have used in the 1960’s.

  2. Huffy,

    Thanks so much for this. I spent hours online the other night looking for a nylon messenger style bag (think Lesportsac) without luck. I’ll definitely check this out. My current bag that I use for work is so heavy empty that I once I fill it I feel like a beast of burden.

    • I hope you find one you like Margaret. I have been using my Baggallini about 1 1/2 weeks now and am wondering why I put up with my big heavy purse for so long. I guess I’ll never go back. You’ll have to let me know which one you pick – maybe I’ll be replacing my briefcase next!

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

