Police and potholes


Some people think seeing a robin hopping around outside is the harbinger of spring. I have nothing against robins, but I submit the true harbingers of spring are these: police and potholes.

This time of year, I see those sneaky folks in their shiny blue cars lurking in the median, as I’m challenging the speed limit on my way to work. (After all, that number on the sign is just a suggestion, isn’t it?) In case you don’t see them, you’ll be glad that the person in front of you, who suddenly slowed down, did. So stop cursing him and waving your fist, and thank him from saving you from getting a ticket. Why do they come out in droves in the spring? Some would say it’s to catch all those drivers, who, at the first sign of spring, turn into free spirits and throw caution to the winds, while flying down the highway with the radio blaring “Fun, Fun, Fun” and the top down. Or maybe they are just after writers who over-use cliches.

Potholes are more common to cold weather areas, so those of you who don’t live where it’s cold are saying “What? Pot what? What is she talking about?” Potholes are gaping apertures of missing pavement, small caverns on the road of life, that occur when the cold weather starts to thaw. It has something to do with physics, freeze and thaw cycles, and moss growing on the north side of trees. Why we call them potholes, I have no idea: something about the hole being as deep as a pot, or some other folklore. If you want the scientific gibberish on potholes, click here, but suffice it to say, you know spring is around the corner when your front tire disappears in a hole the size of New Jersey.

(Thanks Google for the images!)

Β© Huffygirl 2012

18 thoughts on “Police and potholes

      • He he. πŸ˜›

        Our policecars over here looks horrible. From video games to English films, police cars have always fascinated me although I heard they are terrible when it comes to steering and accelerating.

      • Maybe your interest in police cars will lead you to a career in law enforcement, engineering, or maybe just race car driving πŸ˜€

        I don’t know how our police cars are at driving or steering, but they seem to be pretty fast when they need to be. I haven’t been in a police car in a long time, but I hear they are now like mini offices, with computers and all sorts of gadgets.

      • Well, I think my life story would be a lot more interesting if I had been, but no, I was not busted. But I did “get” to sit in the back of a police car once when my family was in a car accident. Fortunately no one was hurt and the accident was not our fault. I think they didn’t want me to get away until they ran my license, hence, the free seat in the back of the car.

  1. Hi Donna,

    The last time that I was pulled over, the officer said that I was doing 50 as I entered a traffic circle. I protested by saying that that would be impossible unless I was on two wheels. He got all puffed up, so I changed my approach.

    “Sorry, officer.”

    He let me go with a warning. πŸ™‚

    Ray
    via Margaret’s blog.

    • Looks like you got very lucky Ray, and managed to stay out of the back of that car! We are starting to get more traffic circles in my area. Since most people don’t know what to do with them yet, they seem to be entering pretty slowly. Thanks for stopping by my blog, via Margaret’s.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

