Do not be alarmed – I’m okay!


Deutsch: English: X-ray of a right shoulder wi...
Image via Wikipedia

I had surgery on my right shoulder today. Nothing serious, although it did turn out to have more things wrong in there than anticipated. At the last minute I had thoughts of putting it off for a better time. But there really is no good time when it comes to things like elective surgery. One can always think of some reason why now is a bad time to have it done. So I got up early, showered with pink antibacterial soap, had my husband write “yes” on my right shoulder, and “no !!!!” on my left shoulder, and off we went, where I was scrubbed some more, given an attractive “one size fits all large people” gown to wear, and bonked into oblivion with multiple kinds of modern-day anesthesia. All this, and back home in time for lunch. 

Surgery has certainly evolved from the good old days when I first studied nursing. Over  thirty years ago this surgery would have been done with a big open incision, and a several-day hospital stay. Or more likely it would not have been done at all, as a male surgeon would have said to me “you’re a middle-aged woman with ‘a little arthritis’ – just live with it.” Of course, it turned out be more than just ‘a little arthritis.’  It was arthritis, calcific tendonitis, a small rotator cuff tear, bursitis and a labral tear, in case you wanted to know.

But meanwhile I’m having a dickens of a time typing this, and just a tiny bit worried that I might be accidentally saying something goofy so soon out of anesthesia, so I’ll stop here. Maybe I’ll post some pictures later in the week, so I’ll warn the squeamish readers now, just in case. Meanwhile, I have even greater respect for blogger buddy Mark, of The Idiot Speaketh, who is bed-bound recovering from foot surgery. My gig sounds like a piece of cake in comparison. Good recovery Mark, and at least now you have someone with whom to commiserate.

Related posts from Huffygirl:

https://huffygirl.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/the-rotator-cuff/

https://huffygirl.wordpress.com/2011/05/24/more-on-the-rotator-cuff-part-ii/

https://huffygirl.wordpress.com/2011/09/24/aiieeeeehhhhh/

29 thoughts on “Do not be alarmed – I’m okay!

  1. Jeez, I hate anything that starts out with “Don’t worry – everything’s fine,” or, in your case, more literary: “Do not be alarmed – I’m okay!” My heart sank, since I hadn’t known there was anything wrong with you, other than occasionally an overdose of zaniness. It certainly got me to read your post, but then I usually do.

    I’m very glad you are okay, and commiserate with your finding out there was more wrong than you thought. Considering what they found, it’s a good thing you had your surgery done when you did. Rotator cuff tears, for one, are not easy to fix and are very painful in the more advanced stage. Listen to me, giving medical information to a nurse. Pshaw!! I think I am still in shock.

    Okay, I’ll stop babbling now. For goodness sakes, rest for a couple of days and quit climbing stone walls and swinging yourself over golly-knows-what by a rope.

    *a hundred hugs*

    • “an occasional dose of zaniness…” Me? 🙂 Thanks for the hugs and sage advice Sandra. You can “babble” here any time. No wall climbing for awhile – I’ll behave, I promise. (at least for a week any way…)

    • “Dont’ be impatient…” Perhaps you know me better than I thought! I think biking may feel a little better this year, thanks for this surgery. No more leaning in the handlebar pain I hope.

  2. I can’t believe you’re trying to type after shoulder surgery. But I’m glad you’re doing well. Take it easy there, Aunt Huffy!

    • I will Judy. Typing and writing are one of the “allowed” activities, so I thought I’d try it out. It’s going a little better today than it did last night. Plus, I’m under the influence of fewer drugs today!

    • Thanks Winsome. So far it’s not feeling too bad, but I’m not really doing anything with it yet. It will be interesting to see how it goes when I start doing things like trying to get dressed!

  3. Wow, so sorry to hear. And weren’t you worrying that they would just tell you to exercise more and stop whining. I guess you were taken seriously and you should be in top top shape soon. You can’t play ‘red rover, red rover, let huffygirl come over’ for a while though. 🙂

    • Thanks Techy. You are right – no red rover for me, or wall climbing, or biking for awhile. Yes, I was really expecting someone to just pat me on the hand and tell me to get a hobby. Now, I’ve got photographic evidence.

  4. These are the type of posts my daughter likes! She is a nurse, and loves medical stories. Me, not so much – but I love your x-ray picture. I find them fascinating!

  5. Just read this and the post that comes after this one. You poor soul. Milk it for all it’s worth! Seriously, I hope you have a quick recovery and the surgery has done the trick. Thanks for keeping up with the blogging in spite of the discomfort and lack of mobility.

    • Thanks for your kind words Susan. Today it’s been 9 days since the surgery, and the first day that I feel like my shoulder could actually be normal again some day, so that’s progress.

  6. My Mom just had surgery on one knee and will have to go back under in a few months to get the other knee replaced. So sorry to hear about your pain and discomfort huffygirl. Hope your pain quickly subsides and your recovery is swift.

  7. Pingback: Confessions of a bad patient | Huffygirl's Blog

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

