Urban adventure: Exploring the first big snow


We had our first big snow of the winter here. It started out as rain on New Year’s Day, until a fierce afternoon wind brought cold, turning the rain to fluffy snow.  This morning I woke to 8-10 inches of snow and temperatures that had dropped 20 degrees from the day before. Knowing that folks tend to overreact to the first big snow, in part fueled by media weather hype, I decided to check the cancellations before heading out. I only had a few minutes to scramble around to figure out if the gym was still open before I ventured out for spin class. Five minutes later when I realized I still don’t know how to find the channels on our new TV, I went to my trusty computer screen to see that the gym was still indeed open. Not much else closed, but still being holiday time, there was no school to cancel.

It was one of those days where people like me who grew up with snowy winters and knowing how to drive on snow are not alarmed. I spent the morning baking and watching the birds and squirrels trying to find the seed I had put out the night before. Later I went out to get some scenic photos and do some shopping. The park where I stopped to take photos was eerily empty. I made my own path slogging  through the fresh, deep snow, even falling once, landing hands outstreched, the  camera around my neck emerging dusted with snow. The busiest street in town on the way to Best Buy was strangely deserted. Maybe it was a combination of fear of bad roads, football fans staying home to watch games, and folks with no money left for shopping, but most people stayed in . I felt like an urban adventurer, having the city mostly to myself. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

© Huffygirl 2012

Related links:

20 thoughts on “Urban adventure: Exploring the first big snow

    • You probably don’t get snow as often in the UK as we do here, so chances are you won’t have to drive in it. I think it’s much nicer to look at in photos when you don’t have to deal with it.

    • I agree with the Brrrrr part – after about 10 minutes in the park I was ready to practically run back to the car. But I was glad to have the chance to get some beautiful snowy pictures.

  1. Beautiful photos! The photos came out well… so your camera must be ok. So glad that you weren’t hurt in the fall. At least, I hope that you weren’t hurt. I would probably have wrenched my back or sprained my wrist, but maybe the soft snow cushioned your fall.

    • Thanks Theresa. Fortunately, I was not hurt, which is surprising, since I’m generally a klutz and always tripping, bumping into things, dropping things, etc. The soft snow was a good landing spot, and the camera still seems to be okay. You’ll notice one photo is white around the edges, which I could claim was special effect I tried very hard to get, but in actuality is the snow and fog that I just couldn’t get off the lens.

    • Thanks Jeanne. Hopefully the snow is staying far away from you this year. Watch out though – I heard it was cold in Florida today, and if it can happen there, it might happen to you.

    • I have to say that first bird photo is my fav of the bunch. I sprinkled seed out on top of the snow and that little junco is lookimg through the snow to get every last bit. Juncos are ground feeders, so even though there is plenty of seed in the feeder, they scramble around to get what’s on the ground. I try to sprinkle some on the patio ledge so they have a better chance of finding some food that day.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

