Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast


I admit it – I’m not a morning person, so that pretty much makes me the breakfast curmudgeon. When I saw this challenge, my heart sank. Breakfast is not something I celebrate – it’s something I do just to get it over with. Cereal in a bowl or toast on a plate, and hope I feel more awake and chipper after I’ve eaten and moved on to the next step of the morning routine. I’ve never been one of those “Leave it to Beaver” breakfast-making moms. My kids learned how to put cereal in a bowl at a very early age. Hey, it’s my job to teach them to be self-reliant isn’t it?  I don’t feel guilty at all, well maybe just a little bit, but they turned out fine so I guess it didn’t hurt them to have the breakfast curmudgeon for a mom.

When we have overnight guests, I really wish I was the kind of hostess who would greet them in the morning with a stack of fluffy homemade pancakes, crisp bacon and freshly squeezed juice. Instead, I’m the hostess who shows them our wide selection of cereal and hope they will jump right in and help themselves. After all, I’m just trying to make them feel at home.

I’ve scanned over some of the entries by my fellow bloggers and have been blown away by the number of people who prepare beautiful, enticing breakfasts. I’ve seen stunning pictures of fancy, gourmet oatmeal, muffins, pancakes, french toast, eggs, and every imaginable breakfast delight, artistically arranged and begging to be eaten. Amazing. At this point, I should probably insert my photo of my breakfast, but really, what would be the point? Anyone who wants to know what my breakfast looks like, do this: open your cupboard, get out a bowl, look at it. See, easy.

Instead, I thought I’d share some links from my fellow bloggers who took a creative turn on the theme of “Breakfast.”

From my blogging buddy Mayfielder – this is my favorite: Fenland Photos: Breakfast

Amateur Golfer has an interesting take as well, one familiar to many college  students: Amateur Golfer: Breakfast

Jake’s entry shows a thoughtful juxtaposition: Jake: Breakfast

Fergiemoto’s entry will make you say “Awwww.” Fergiemoto: Breakfast

Oh, all right, heres mine: Huffygirl, breakfast curmudgeon’s breakfast: 

And here’s what I wish it looked like:

(Except for that bad spot on the apple, that is.)

© Huffygirl 2011

20 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast

  1. You’re hilarious, HG. At least you EAT a breakfast. I don’t. I know it’s not good to skip breakfast, I know I should eat breakfast, especially since I am diabetic. However, I feel nauseated every morning and simply can’t face eating anything, not even an apple.

    The other morning, hubby came into my office, carrying a plate of warmed over homemade spaghetti. (Yes, he eats weird things for breakfast – like leftover pizza and sausage rolls.) Anyhow, the smell was so nauseating to me that I wanted to ask him to leave.

    And, no, I’m not pregnant, although, at 71, it’s too bad. Hubby and I could make a fortune in book deals and movie contracts lol

    • Thanks Sandra. You always make such nice and encouraging comments. Maybe you should take a picture of your hubby’s spaghetti breakfast for your blog.

      If you were my patient and told me you did not eat breakfast, I’d be lecturing you now 🙂

    • I think you’re right. It’s hard to find an apple this time of year that doesn’t have a bad spot, and I was too lazy to retake the photo after I saw it. But, it adds realism I think. Loved your photo within a photo entry.

  2. Very nice shots. I was not so much into this challenge (as evidenced by my entry) but I am enjoying seeing what others have done. Your take on this is far more appetizing and appealing than mine! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast… | Mirth and Motivation

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Breakfast « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  5. I love your entry to the challenge. I usually don’t eat anything for breakfast… just drink coffee (or tea). Eating cereal is a lot healthier.

    • Sounds like a wonderfully healthy breakfast Margaret. I wish I could say that all of my breakfasts were that healthy. At least I’ve recently add blueberries though – until I work my way through hubby’s supply that is.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

