Chocolate Chip Cookies: The recipe is in my head!


The well-used recipe

I have a whole recipe box full of recipes for all kinds of cookies, but 99.9% of the time when I’m baking cookies, I choose my tried and true chocolate chip. I’ve made these cookies so much that I have the recipe memorized – no need to get out the battered and grubby-looking  recipe card, although I sometimes do just to make sure I haven’t missed anything. This recipe is adapted from the original Toll House Cookie recipe  (what do toll houses have to do with cookies anyway?) that appeared on the back of the Nestle semi-sweet chocolate chip package 37 years ago. One of my modifications was to add extra chocolate chips, because, let’s face it, that is the REAL reason why we eat chocolate chip cookies. This makes a large batch of cookies, unless you eat too many samples of the dough during baking. (Yes, I know the FDA, CDC, NAACP and FAA do not recommend eating raw cookie dough. But c’mon – is there anyone who doesn’t do this?)

1 1/3 cups Crisco or other vegetable shortening, softened

1 cup white sugar

2 cups light brown sugar, packed

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 teaspoons water

Cream together the above ingredients with a large mixing spoon. 

Then add:

4 large eggs

1 1/2 packages of semi-sweet chocolate chips (12 ounce packages)

Mix well. If you like to have nuts in your cookies,  add those now as well.

Add the chocolate chips before adding the dry ingredients - much easier to mix in!

Add the following dry ingredients,  adding about half of the ingredients, stir, then add the rest:

4 1/2 cups white flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons salt

After dough is thoroughly mixed, drop by tablespoon-full onto cookie sheets covered with parchment paper.

Use a tablespoon or a cookie dough scoop.

Bake 375 degrees Farenheit for 10 minutes and 10 seconds. Cookies will puff up and appear to be underdone when removed from the oven. Allow cookies to rest on the cookie sheet a few minutes to finish baking, and they will be soft, but completely done. Enjoy.

Yum!

 © Huffygirl 2011

19 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies: The recipe is in my head!

    • You’re very welcome Sandra. The reason eating cookie dough is not recommended is that it’s possible to get salmonella from the eggs, if they are contaminated with sallmonella. It’s unlikely, but you know how cautious the CDC can be. Actually, you probably don’t know, since you don’t have the CDC there 🙂

  1. I love the toll house recipe…I do have the tendency to overcook them, concerned that they are not done. I will trust your tried and true directions and go with the 10 minute baking time.

    Yum!!! Have you ever heard of substituting splenda for the sugar?

    • I’ve never tried Splenda for a sugar substitute, but I’ve heard other people say it works fine for baking. I guess the only way to know is to try it. Let me know how they turn out.

  2. Yes I will definitely have some of those cookies 🙂
    What a delicious treat my wicked friend…

    Have a lovely rest of evening now 🙂

    Androgoth

  3. I cook without recipes but always bake using them – except for one cookie recipe that I too have memorized. It’s Anzac cookies – a oatmeal-coconut cookie named after the Australian- New Zealand Army Corps- don’t know the history – I was introduced to them while an AFS student in Tasmania, Australia, summer of 1978, before college. They’re a family favorite – first gift I made for my husband before we were married. Will do a post on this at some point! Nice post!

  4. You know that cycling you’re doing…. Do you think these might just be a little bit counter productive 😉 Looks like a fun recipe but I think I’ll stick to savoury!

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

