Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers


The fuchsia is a tropical plant native to Central and South America. It was introduced to Ireland by travelers and has thrived there because of the temperate climate. I found these fuchsias growing in the wild near Bantry Bay, but saw them everywhere in Ireland. They grow either wild or cultivated, as bushes 4-5 feet tall. At home, I have trouble getting them to survive as an annual, and have for the most part, given up trying to grow them. Guess I’ll have to visit Ireland again if I want to see some really great fuchsias.

© Huffygirl 2011

37 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Flowers

  1. They’re gorgeous, HG. At first I thought they were bleeding heart, which is a flower that grows very well in western Canada. Then I realized they couldn’t be, because of the purple bit in the middle. Also they are a deeper pink that bleeding heart is.

    Do they have a fragrance?

    • I don’t think they have much of a fragrance – if they do it is not strong. What amazes me is the two colors – they come in a white and pink, and a pink and red. It was amazing to see them growing as big bushes in Ireland. Here we can only grow them as annuals. Most people use them in hanging baskets, as they attract hummingbirds. So if you’ve got the plant hanging by your window, you’re more likely to see the hummers! Maybe you should try planting one next summer.

    • Me too, although I don’t have much luck growing them. It’s amazing to see the big bushes growing wild in Ireland (and I imagine in other countries with temperate climates.) No one takes care of them at all and they are these big robust bushes.

  2. they are gorgeous! In Spain they call them “pendientes de la reina” i.e. “Queen´s Earrings”! This post inspired me to upload a few shots recently taken in the Royal Gardens of Aranjuez, near Madrid.
    Thanks a lot for sharing HG.

    • The queen’s earrings – I love that. A perfect description and they’re definitely fit for a queen. I enjoyed your photos too; I think I will never get tired of flower photos.

    • I agree – I always thought the same thing. Ireland is north of Michigan so in my mind it should be colder. Apparently being surrounded by water is the key – the water makes the temperature more, well, temperate. The fact that it’s surrounded by cold water though makes this not seem to make sense, but hey, who really understands weather anyway. The Ireland natives told us that it rarely snows there, and if it does, the snow does not stay on the ground, so guess that’s part of the reason too – the ground does not freeze.

      • Ha ha no. I’m calling my camera deficient because it’s a point-and-shoot. For a point-and-shoot to deliver photo like the first one, it’s a big thing I guess. So yours is a good camera indeed. With mine, which I didn’t buy actually, got as a prize, such photo cannot be taken. I constantly miss a DSLR therefore. 😦

      • I see. I think there are definitely better and worse point and shoot cameras. A lot depends upon the pixels and zoom, quality of the camera and other features. I think I’ve actually gotten some pretty good photos with mine.

      • Maybe you just need to look into getting a better point and shoot camera Sajib. I’ve found the Kodak Easy Share to be a pretty good point and shoot. Mine is an older one and I’m sure the newer ones have even better features. The size and feel is more like a digital SLR. The only thing that I don’t like is that it’s not small enough to just slip into my purse. I’d probably take more photos if I could carry it with me all the time without bringing an extra bag, but then I think the quality would not be as good if it were a smaller camera.

    • Thanks. Everytime I get these out I: 1. Want to go back 2. Mourn all the things we didn’t get to see and 3. Wonder why I would want to vacation somewhere that is so damp and rainy. We had unusually good weather when we were there but I wouldn’t expect it to happen twice.

  3. I have one of these bushes in my back garden too! Must have been a still day – the flowers tend to dance a lot in the slightest breeze. Nice close shot at the top 🙂

    • Thanks Martin. I’m still amazed that you folks in the UK can enjoy these flowers as large bushes, while here in Michigan we’re lucky to coax them into growing in a garden pot for the summer.

    • Thanks Doris. At first I started snapping pictures of every wild fuchsia bush I saw in Ireland, thinking it was some kind of anomally. Then I found out that they were everywhere, like maple trees would be to us.

  4. Fuchsias thrive anywhere so long as they get enough water – which is the key. Fuchsia Magellanica and F. Magellanica alba [the white, or rather pale pink variant] will grow in the worst of conditions, I’ve seen a photo of an alba on flower in Sweden in January under snow, and I know here in England there’s always a few flowers even under snow on both kinds. Give it another go.
    I’m trying to track down when they were introduced to Ireland, has to be after 1793 but I have no better date.
    I hacked my magellanica down to about 10′, it was busy turning into a tree and cutting the light to my other fuchsias…. they can get very big if they are happy, and this one is growing right over an underground spring.

  5. Pingback: Flowers « Blog Archive « Yori Yuliandra | a photo blog

  6. I loved the hedges of fuchsias that we saw riding bikes out of Dingle. This photo brought bak lovely memories. (I had to look up the spelling, but it was worth it to say ‘Thank you!’

    • You’re very welcome. I found it amazing how the fuchsias grow wild there – here I can barely keep one growing in a pot for the entire summer. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. Hi

    I found your lovely pictures of fuchsias in Ireland while trying to tracking down a local fuchsia society.

    In the US and Canada fuchsia growing is concentrated on the West coast from California through to Vancouver, and in some cities there are some beautiful displays in public parks such as Point Defiance in Tacoma.

    But I am afraid winters in Michigan are likely to be too severe for most fuchsias though F magellanica, which you saw in Ireland, and some of its variants might survive. Janis at the American Fuchsia Society might be able to confirm this, JBERGQ@ pacbell.net.

    Regards

    Ric

    • Thanks for the info Ric. I have not been to the west coast much. Someday I hope to take a drive up the California coast and beyond. Maybe I’ll see the fuchsias then.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

