In honor of the first day of summer, presenting: winter!


Aw, come on,  you know you’ve missed it. Maybe not right away. Probably on that first or second really hot, humid day, when you could cut the humidity with a knife, your house felt like a sauna and  the candy bar your kids left in the car melted on the front seat. Yup. Winter. That coolly refreshing time of year when the air is brisk and…

Oh who am I kidding? I don’t miss it either. I want to languish in every bit of the sunny warmth of summer every minute that I can. I want to be outside all day, instead of running from car to work to house fleeing from the cold. I just can’t get enough of it. This is the only time of year when I can get away with wearing only one sweater instead of two, and by gosh, I’m ready for it. But in the meantime, enjoy my winter pics and hope that the weather they harbinge is at least a good six months away.

An icy meal.

Mr. Snowman's snow pile.

Iced branches.

Huffygirl’s Ode to Winter

The ice, the snow, the slush, the sleet, you run inside to get some heat, the icy falls beneath your feet, winter.

The wind is cold, the trees are bare, there’s icicles within your hair, the weather’s bad, tho’ forecast “fair”, winter.

Your driveway is a pile of slush, fingers so cold they’ve turned to mush, the chilly sun the cold has hushed, winter.

Yet sun peeks out ‘neath winter’s glare, a hint of spring is in the air, and fin’lly solstice winnows fair, winter summer!

Happy summer sailing!

© Huffygirl 2011

(Ode to Winter, original poem by Huffygirl)

17 thoughts on “In honor of the first day of summer, presenting: winter!

    • Thanks Ann. This ode was running through my head last night, keeping me awake – I had to get out of bed and share it. One of the curses of being creatively inspired to write – it never strikes at convenient times I think.

  1. Not yet. However, when the heat of July and August hits Missouri, I might revisit your winter photos and cool off a little. Thank you for the future respite.
    -Theresa

  2. I’m sitting on my patio in 94-degree heat, enjoying your winter pictures tremendously. Still glad they’re just pictures, though! Loved the ode. Well done!

  3. loved the ode to winter but honestly, i dont miss winter at all. once someone said, if all humans lived around the tropics, the world would be a happier place. i won´t subscribe to that extreme view, but surely i would love to stay away from winter.
    great post,
    cheers

  4. Loved this post! (I’ll appreciate it more when I reflect back on it during a 100+ degree day in the D.C. area, though) Today was glorious today—I know it won’t last long, though.

  5. Loved the Ode. Not being a heat-loving person, I actually would rather have winter than 85-or-more degree heat with humidity.

  6. Pingback: Carbon Footprint | Huffygirl's Blog

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

