There once was a girl who loved writing,


Medieval illustration of a Christian scribe wr...

Image courtesy of Wikipedia

And found it could be quite exciting.

She jumped up from a log, and started a blog,

and she now has a forum worth citing.

Okay, so it’s NOT the best Limerick ever.

Today while scanning the pages of Freshly Pressed (and what WordPress blogger doesn’t?), I came across this delightful piece by Malinda Essex,Ph.D., entitled “Three Things I’ve Learned From a Month of Blogging.”   I’m sure you’ll want to go ahead and read Malinda’s post for yourself. Malinda took the opportunity of the milestone of her first month of blogging to reflect on what writing had meant to her.  She expounds upon how much she’s enjoyed the opportunity to write and the chance to have people read it and offer kind and insightful comments. Malinda’s post made me realize that there was a time when very few writers were able to get their words out to the world in a meaningful and accessible way. This thought so moved me that I posted the following comment to her blog:

There once was  time when those who loved to write could only get their works read if:
1.  They wrote letters to the editor or opinion columns for the local paper, and were lucky enough to get them chosen for publication.

2.  They became a published author.

3.  They wrote newsletters or other self-published missives that they sent out to the readers, who mostly felt obliged to read them.

But now, there’s blogging.

I remember a time when I hoped if I was a really good writer, and worked tirelessly at my writing in a garret, preferably one without heat or electric lights, then mailed my hard-written manuscript to dozens of publishers, that maybe, just maybe someday, my work would be published and someone besides the family and friends that I would force to read it, might actually, voluntarily read it. There is still the hope that someday I will write and have published an actual tome (by then it will probably only be an e-tome) but in the meantime,  I have blogging.

It seems that I never run out of things I want to write about, and love to have the opportunity to share them with others. And it seems that thousands of others, 336,812 as of today, by WordPress count, feel the same way. We’re fortunate to have an opportunity to share our words, even though we may never be officially chosen by an editor, agent or publisher somewhere, to be allowed to have our words read.

Writing is a way to share a tiny part of oneself,  without giving all of yourself away, and getting that tiny part back from the readers who comment, read and like. Just like Malinda, I appreciate every single reader who stops by to share a little part of themselves, and their words, with me. 

I  love this opportunity to share my writing with you, and feel fortunate to have it, without having to suffer in an unheated garret. I’ll keep going until I have nothing left to say, or until you all start begging me to stop. And in the meantime, I still have those two barely started novels, and one memoir on the back burner, nagging at me to come back to them soon. And I will although I probably won’t be moving to an unheated  garret!

21 thoughts on “There once was a girl who loved writing,

  1. Great post. I also like having this forum where I can share my writing with others and hope they get something out of each piece…enjoyment, a smile, encouragement, inspiration. I would love more readers to be moved enough to leave comments, and grateful for those who do. It is fun to have a dialog with others regarding the writing and photos we share.

    • How true Ann. I think some folks are reluctant to leave comments because they have to give their email address. We should probably point out from time to time that reader’s email addresses are not displayed and never given out to others.

      • That is a good idea. We could also suggest that those who know us personally can send us their comments directly to our email address if they are not comfortable leaving a public comment.

  2. I love blogging. I want to be a published fiction writer someday and a journalist. But even if I go wildly popular, which I can assure you that it’s never gonna happen, I’d still write blogs. Because blogging is entirely a different kind of writing for me. Separate from the writings I do for newspaper or if I ever write a fiction that gets printed, blogging will still be different than any of them.

    • Yes, it’s definitely more interactive than fiction writing. You get an immediate response from your readers. In the current zeitgeist, I think published writers need to have blogs to keep their readers current.

  3. I will never beg you stop…just beg you to visit me too! HA!

    I thought of you today (with the rock climbing experience you have) but more along the lines of “exercising” in general. I love to spin and I finally talked my husband into purchasing my own spin bike. I found one that fits me perfectly and just like the gym’s, we found a refurbishing place and spent 6oo less than the new bike price. It has a life time warranty and the guys there can repair anything, as they are the ones paid to put them together and deliver to the gyms. Therefore, I’m getting rid of my gym membership.

    I’ll be posting about it soon, kind of like Mark @ the Idiot Speaketh…except, I don’t have a computer program…and I don’t think I’ll be logging miles…just a desire to get healthy and spin away… 🙂
    Sandi
    Lake Forest, California USA

    • It will be interesting to read about your progress Sandi. If you’ve been following Mark you know he’s lost about 44 #, plus probably gained a whole lot in cardiovascular fitness. You two might have to duke it out on a cyber road trip sometime.

      I don’t know anyone who has their own spin bike – you’re the first!

  4. Loved this post because that’s how I feel about blogging, too. I just got back from visiting my daughter who has been Freshly Pressed at least four times already (My Pajama Days), and she encouraged me to post more. I’d only been writing once or twice a week, but now I’m trying to do more. I love the immediacy of blogging. Like you said, you can get a response right away. I enjoy your writing so much!

    • Thanks CE! Good for your daughter to be FP’d 4 times. Now it’s time for your to get a turn, soon I hope. I think blogging more frequently does help, and I wonder if posting blogs on the weekdays or weekends makes a difference? Not sure, but they do not post any new FP’s over the weekend, so if you’re picked on Friday you get to stay up there a little longer. Keep writing – I’m sure you’ll get there.

  5. Nicely expressed. When I started blogging, I was immediately impressed with how nice everyone was when they commented on other blogs – maybe this is why – because we’re all so happy to be writing and to have someone reading what we write, we all feel generous and encouraging about the writing of others.

    • I think you’ve hit the proverbial nail on the head Patti. I’ve run across a few blogs and commenters who are negative, but in general have found the blogging community to be extremely positive, supportive and friendly.

  6. Yes, I feel exactly the same way about blogging. It’s my place where I can write and be read. And it’s my place where I can share. 🙂

  7. Fantastic post. You’re so right about the opportunities we now have to write and be read. You said you’d turn that comment into a post and you did. Keep reading, writing,and sharing. And thanks for the shout out! 🙂

  8. we all have something to say. the blogs provide us the platform to do exactly that without having to wait for that sunday afternoon with friends. you can write whenever you have the urge and people can hear what you say even days after you have posted. sometimes you yourself can come back to read your old posts and hear what you had to say on a particular day in your past. what can be better? only my diary, perhaps but i am loving it here more.

    great post!
    cheers,
    Samyak

    • Thanks Samyak. You raise a good point comparing blogging to a diary. In a way, that is exactly what it is. I never enjoyed writing in a diary, but I do enjoy blogging. Plus, it’s typing, not writing by hand, which seems so tedious and time consuming. I guess I’m not the only one who goes back and re-reads their own posts too.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

