Do we really need one more blog about the royal wedding?


Princess Diana dancing with John Travolta in t...

Image via Wikipedia

Yes, apparently we do, because here it is. I’ve heard people weighing in all week on whether they plan to watch the royal wedding. I remember the excitement 30 years ago surrounding the wedding buzz of Princess Diana and Prince Charles. My personal take on the new couple was that finally the seemingly stodgy and standoffish royal family would get an infusion of new blood. Diana was lovely, kind, fresh, new, exactly what the royals needed to make them relevent to the world. Despite all her personal angst, Diana’s freshness and humanitarian work brought respect and purpose to the somewhat useless position of royal.

But there was  price. The scandals and posturing that colored Diana’s life story have soured many about the purpose and necessity of the royals. Over the years I’ve seen what the elitist royal class does to its princesses, and I’ve become jaded, no longer believing in happily ever after for the royal fairy tales. Now, at a time when the global economy is bad and many people can’t afford the necessities of life, a showy $18 million wedding just seems wrong.

Thirty years later, I just don’t feel the same excitement about watching privileged rich people show off their opulence in the name of a wedding. I do wish Kate and William well, and hope that their romance turns out better than other royal marriages did. I probably will tune in to see Kate’s dress, and look at pictures online, but otherwise, I’ll leave the watching to those who still believe in princesses.  Meanwhile, I think the royal family needs to take a hard look at the world around them, and find a purpose other than providing gossip fodder, if they want to have relevance in the 21st century.

© Huffygirl

8 thoughts on “Do we really need one more blog about the royal wedding?

  1. But I loved the part that the family asked guests to gift money only (as they have got everything they might ever need). And I’ve heard the money will be donated to charity funds. This is some example.

  2. I’m not into royalty either but it does give some people a diversion from their ordinary run of the mill lives. After all, what girl would not want to marry a prince and thus become a princess. Some peoples dreams do come true.

  3. Seriously, I could not understand why Diana would want to be married into that family. They appeared so stuffy, then! I understand the whole “royalty appearances” but honestly? What century is this? My friend had a party for us to watch it over at her house. Actually, she taped it and we rewatched. Ugh. Beautiful, but it didn’t seem like they loved each other. (sad) and I quickly lost interest. I didn’t really care to watch it in the first place, but my friends did.

    I didn’t really read up much on Diana’s death, but for some reason wasn’t the Queen upset with her behavior?…and it just felt like some strange things happened leading up to the fatal crash. It just didn’t feel like a true accident.

    Anyway, present day, Grandma and dear old pops need to “retire” if there’s such a thing? They need to be out of the light/decision making and really hand over the reins to William, when he’s ready.

    Can you imagine the press when Queen Elizabeth dies and the funeral coverage? One blogger stated they got the day off from work to watch the wedding. Wonder if they will for a Royal Funeral, as well?

    Sandi

    • Diana’s story was truly tragic – I hope the royal family has learned their lesson ie that they can’t abuse people like they did her, and that Kate does not meet such a tragic end. I think William learned good ethics from his mom and will not let history repeat itself in this royal family.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

