All right already, I’m awake


A typical digital 12-hour alarm clock indicati...

Image via Wikipedia

Bzzz, bzzz, bzzz, bzzz. Bright sunshine streaming in my window. Annoying alarm jarring me from sleep. What day is it? What time is it? Where am I? Was I supposed to be somewhere? I look at the clock – it’s almost an hour past the time I set for the alarm. Was I so sound asleep that I’ve beenย hittingย  snooze every seven minutes for the last hour, completely unaware of it? Guess so. Sleep so sound that I didn’t even notice the annoying alarm=best sleep ever.

(Photo courtesy of Wikipedia)

17 thoughts on “All right already, I’m awake

  1. When my mom was working and I was in high school, she used to set her alarm about an hour ahead of when she really had to get up and hit the snooze ever 5 minutes or so. Her alarm was loud enough that I heard it across the house – it drove me crazy! Nice that you could sleep soundly through yours ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, apparently it’s a gift. My husband wakes at the just the CLICK of the alarm turning on, and can never go back to sleep. And if you’re that kind of person (aka morning person) , you usually don’t want to anyway.

  2. I used to be a very light sleeper. However, now that I am on a CPAP machine (for people with sleep apnea), I sleep pretty soundly…soundly enough that my husband drilling things in the basement doesn’t wake me up ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. I hate “snooze” people. Just get up already! Staying the night at my girlfriends, while in highschool, she kept hitting snooze and I was like I can’t go back to sleep!

    My husband did that when we first moved in together and I said- enough of that! I have one of those great internal alarms. I wake up about 5-3 minutes before the alarm sounds. I stopped using it. IN fact, the radio/alarm clock I have is from high school, cheapo thing from PriceClub (now Costco!) ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sandi

    • Oooh Sandi I guess you’d hate rooming with me. I’m a BIG “snoozer”. My husband has been putting up with it for years – I don’t think he even hears it any more. I’m not getting any complaints anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰ I guess the alarm clocks last a lot longer if you don’t have to hit them all the time!

  4. I have a pretty good internal clock, and I usually wake up a few minutes before the alarm goes off. Every once in a while, though, I’m still sleeping hard when the alarm beeps, and my day usually goes downhill from there.

  5. That has happened to me. It is weird to wake up and wonder why I either slept through the alarm, or don’t remember hitting the stop button; and then even slept through a 2nd alarm on my cell phone!!!

    • It’s great if you don’t have to be anywhere. My fear is that I’ll do it someday when I’m supposed to be getting up for work. Hasn’t happened yet though. Whew!

  6. I know the feeling. It has happened to me once or twice when i had to go to work. But thankfully it wasn’t so late that i couldn’t get ready REAL fast and get to work at least close to on time ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I know, I have heard it said that those of us who do that would be better letting ourselves sleep until the time we actually need to get up and then when the alarm at the right time goes off we just GET UP ๐Ÿ™‚

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

