WP Weekly Photo Challenge: Answer


And the answer is...

This week WordPress challenged bloggers to post a photo depicting the theme “old.” This lighthouse looks pretty modern at first glance. But look closely at the windows.  You can see how thick the walls are by the inset of the windows. Older structures tend to have thicker walls than newly built ones. Look at the red railing at the top and the entrance at the bottom – these are modern and were clearly added later. Take a close look at the lighthouse walls. The black and white paint gives the illusion of metallic siding, but if you look closely you can see that the walls are actually masonry or stucco, not metal. 

This is Hook Head Lighthouse off the southern coast of Ireland. It is a Norman-built structure, dating back to 1172, and is believed to be the oldest working lighthouse in Europe. Sometimes what is old can be made to appear new.

No takers on this challenge.

© Huffygirl

7 thoughts on “WP Weekly Photo Challenge: Answer

  1. I love it! I have a fascination with lighthouses and water towers. I keep thinking I should take off and meander cross-country to see and photograph all of them….and then I remember that I have kids to raise. 🙂

    Thanks for including the descriptive commentary to help me feel that I was there.

    • My husband and I once visited Prince Edward Island, and saw just about every lighthouse that was there. Ditto for the Door Peninsula in Wisconsin. We have the same fascination with lighthouses – not sure why. I think in part it’s because they’r out there, alone, watching out for us, and of course they’re next to a beautiful body of water too.

  2. This is beautiful! We never actually got here. If I’d know it existed, and that is was Norman, I would’ve loved to see it.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lines | Huffygirl's Blog

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

