Hungry Workday Muffins


Yummy blueberry muffins, still warm. (Photo: Huffygirl)

It’s 7:30 PM and I’m just getting home from work. I’ve had people coughing on me all day, and lunch was half a tuna sandwich gulped down at my desk over seven hours ago. I walk in the door ravenous, more than ready to dive into the pasta that my husband has been making. I smell the sauce and pasta, but I smell something else too – it’s fruity, cinnamony and delightfully, no, sinfully enticing. Forget about the pasta, I’m drawn to the aroma of hubby’s blueberry muffins.

Yes, it’s the same hubby who usually saves all his blueberry baking for July, but now that I’ve got all the freezer space in the world, he’s decided to break into the frozen blueberry stash early this year. And I’m glad he did. These

Crumbly topping and blueberries too!

muffins are huge, dripping over the sides of the pan, with sugar-cinnamon-encrusted tops and big juicy blueberries peeking out through the topping.  As we scrape the still-warm muffins loose from the pans, crumbly pieces that were stuck to the edges break off. We’re scooping the crumbs up and into our mouths as fast as we can, each bite more delectable than the last. The pasta sits forgotten for a minute until we finish our blueberry muffin orgy.  Never mind that we had to soak the muffin pans AND the cookie sheets he put under the overflowing muffin pans, AND clean the oven after the blueberry muffin overspill, it was worth it. If you don’t want to experience the same aftermath, use LARGE muffin pans, or divide batter into 16-18 medium/standard-sized muffin pans instead.

Blueberry Feather Muffins

2 1/2 cups flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened

1 egg

1 cup milk or rice milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

 1 1/2 cups big, fresh, juicy blueberries, or ones  that have been sitting in your freezer since last August will also do 🙂

Cream together sugar, softened butter/margarine, then add egg and stir well. Add dry ingredients and milk. Fold in blueberries. Spoon into paper-lined or greased muffin pans, making 16-18 medium/standard size muffins, or 12 LARGE muffins.

Topping:

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/3 cup flour

1/4 cup butter or margarine, firm but not hard, cut into pats

Mix sugar, cinnamon and flour in a medium bowl. With a fork or pasty blender, cut in the pats of butter/margarine until topping is crumbly. Sprinkle over tops of muffins. Bake 375 degrees F for 20-25 minutes.

(Recipe credit: The Blueberry Cookbook, Chamber of Commerce Blueberry Festival Committee, South Haven, Michigan, 1990.)

© The author and Huffygirl’s Blog, 2010 to 3010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to the author and Huffygirl’s Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

22 thoughts on “Hungry Workday Muffins

      • Okay, I get it now. I hadn’t gotten back to your comment yet. Although, I could make an arguement that a homemade, regular-sized blueberry muffin is not necessarily a fall off the nutrition horse. Fortunately, the cookbook was one of those homemade, hometown ones that doesn’t give the fat and calorie counts for the recipe, so for all we know, it may be calorie-free 🙂

        I’m glad to hear about the robin – I still have yet to see one, but I’m hoping it’s because my patio blocks my view of them on the ground, and not because they’re not here.

  1. OK…I get up this morning, skip breakfast, ride 30 miles on the bike, am ravenously hungry, and then I come in and sit down and read this post….. Thank you so much! I am chewing on the keyboard as I type this! 🙂

    • Let me know how they turn out. Maybe I think they were so good because I was sooooo hungry when I got home that day. Perhaps they’ll just turn out to be…average?

  2. Wowza, those look amazing. I’m gonna print this and put it in the recipe box. I love the topping part, and the fact that they’re big and fat and fluffy. Gotta love those Chamber of Commerce -type cookbooks, real down-home, real people food! What butterfat? Life is meant to be lived!

    • Exactly. Be careful with you pan size – if you divide the dough into 12 standard-size muffin tins, you’ll have muffin dripping all over the bottom of your oven like we did. Thank goodness I have a “self-cleaning oven” though 😉

  3. What a delectable and enjoyable treat you got after getting back home! I’ll try out the muffin recipe sometime soon . Thanks for sharing it

  4. Pingback: Muffins: My Drug of Choice « The Life and Times of Nathan Badley…

  5. Thanks for this – I’ll try it. I’ve made a lot of good blueberry muffins, but am still looking for the perfect recipe.

  6. Pingback: Yummy bran muffins | Huffygirl's Blog

  7. Pingback: It’s Pi Day! | Huffygirl's Blog

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

