“A Look Back” is a hit: Thanks Erica


Feature photo from "A Look Back..."

Last week I posted A look back: my first year of blogging, a retrospective look at how Huffygirl’s Blog has grown and evolved this past year. It was great to spend some time reviewing and reflecting, pondering what worked, and what didn’t this past year. And I thought that was that. But unbeknownst to me, the fun folks at WordPress (WP) had other ideas.

As many of you know, since January WP has been engaged in a campaign to encourage its 300,000+ bloggers to write it up, with two campaigns: Postaday 2011 and Postaweek 2011. WP bloggers have been encouraged to post daily, or at least weekly in 2011. Personally, it seems to me that getting bloggers to blog is not really a problem. We bloggers tend to have a lot on our

It's the Daily Post! (Photo: Huffygirl)

minds and don’t mind saying it. Anyway just in case we need some help, WP has set up a special feature to encourage bloggers called The Daily Post. As one might expect, each day The Daily Post shares some kind of writing tidbit. Sometimes it’s a topic suggestion, a post about inspiration, or a challenge to post a photo or something outside of one’s usual comfort zone. 

Well surprisingly it seems that I’m much more inspiring than I knew, because on February 22, 2011, The Daily Post headline read “A WordPresser’s reflection on her first year of blogging.” WP author Erica Johnson featured my post “A Look Back…”  to encourage other bloggers to take a reflective journey with their own blogs. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/a-wordpressers-reflection-on-her-first-year-of-blogging/ As usual, any mention from the good folks at WP brings a flood of visitors to the featured blog. I only became aware that my blog had been cited when I saw my stats rising and looked into it to figure out the source of the spike.

The unexpected publicity from WP brought many new visitors to my blog. I’ve had great fun exchanging comments with them, and taking a peek at each commentor’s blog (yes, I REALLY looked at every single one.) It’s been fun, inspiring and fulfilling, and once again made me keenly aware of the wonderful community of bloggers out there. I’ve “met” folks from other countries and cultures and found that they really aren’t that different from me. It reminds me that I’m not alone – that bloggers from around the world are but a few keystrokes away. It’s also a great reminder to US bloggers that not everyone in the world uses Farenheit, inches and pounds, at least not the same way that we do. Good to keep in mind. 

So once again, thanks WordPress and special thanks to Erica at The Daily Post for making my day.

© The author and Huffygirl’s Blog, 2010 to 3010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to the author and Huffygirl’s Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 thoughts on ““A Look Back” is a hit: Thanks Erica

  1. Well, I for one, am glad that WP did give you this exposure, because otherwise I wouldn’t have found you and I am glad I did. The internet has always delighted since I first found it (thanks to my son) in 1997. My biggest thrill has been meeting people from around the world and talking to them right from my own home. I have loved that.

    You, dear Huffygirl, have brought up another prime reason for blogging, apart from speaking our minds and being of service to other bloggers. That is the wonderful people of WP blogging land. I have yet to meet anyone that isn’t a caring person, and I find that remarkable.

    I was told yesterday when I commented on Yori’s love of paper that I was exactly the same way. Although I hated to go shopping for the most part, a stationery store can lure me from blocks away to browse in amonst all the office “toys” and the paper (notebooks, directories, invoice pads, diaries – oh the joy of it all). Whereupon this person Yori, who lives thousands of miles away from me in a country filled with sand, called me a soul mate of paper – me who lives in a country filled with snow and ice. I was just enchanted by that concept and that description.

    That’s what blogging can do for ya.

    And btw big grats on your success in WP. You surely deserve it.

    • It’s nice to find out that we’re really not that different from people across the world. If everyone could relate to that, there’d be fewer wars and terrorist attacks. Don’t know if bloggers can bring world peace, but we sure could give it a try.

      Thanks for your kind wishes.

  2. Congratulations on being featured! It couldn’t have happened to a nicer person. Now, if I go ahead with my plan to post something about my first year of blogging, do you think people will think I’m copying you? 😉

    • I don’t think so Todd. I think the point of featuring my retrospective blog was to inspire others to do the same. I think there’s room in the blogosphere for more than one person to post a year in review! I look forward to reading it. Maybe I’ve started a trend.

  3. Pingback: Rhapsody in Ten Takes: Bidding February Adieu… | Mirth and Motivation

  4. Congrats on being featured! You really deserve all the great recognition. That is great the your blog has now been exposed to so many new readers AND you have discovered some great new friends and blogs. Wishing you all the best for another great year of blogging! 🙂

  5. Pingback: 33% done | Huffygirl's Blog

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

