Hearty pumpkin rolls


Hearty pumpkin rolls (Photo: Huffygirl)

This is a great recipe for a cold winter day when you have time to stay with it for about 3 1/2 hours. I’ve also made the dough one day, refrigerated it overnight and shaped the rolls and finished it the next day. The original recipe had a few glitches and I’ve added my modifications.

Ingredients:

Proof one packet or 2 1/4 teaspoons regular rise yeast in 1/8 cup warm water. Pour into a large mixing bowl and add the following:

Just under 1 cup milk or soy milk, warm

2/3 cup white sugar

1 cup canned pumpkin puree

1 egg

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter or margarine, room temperature

2 teaspoons salt

3 cups white flour (5 1/2 to 6  cups total)

Mix all together on low with an electric mixer. Then stir in an additional 2  to 2 1/2 cups of flour by hand. 

Turn the dough out onto a generously floured cloth and knead in an additional 1/2 to 1 cup of flour until the dough is no longer sticky and becomes smooth, about 5 minutes. Shape dough into a ball and place in a greased mixing bowl. Cover and allow to rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1  to 1 1/2 hours. Punch down dough. Turn out onto lightly floured cloth. Divide dough with a

You'll need 2-4 baking pans, depending on their size. (Photo: Huffygirl)

sharp knife into 32 pieces and shape into rolls. Place into greased baking pans. Cover and allow to rise again, about 45 minutes to 75 minutes, until doubled. Bake at 350 degrees F for 20-27 minutes, until rolls are golden brown and sound hollow when tapped. Turn out onto wire rack to cool. Serve warm. Rolls may be frozen for later use.

Variation 1: If you have a stand mixer with dough hook (I don’t) mix all ingredients in mixing bowl on low until combined, then increase speed to medium low and mix for 5 minutes to knead, adding additional flour if needed.

Variation 2: For hearty bread, shape into two large loaves and bake in bread pans or round cake pans. 

Variation 3: For hearty cinnamon rolls, instead of shaping into rolls, roll dough out into a rectangle. Spread with melted butter or margarine, then sprinkle with sugar-cinnamon mixture and mini chocolate chips, nuts, raisins, or currents. Slice into 1 to 1 1/2 inch slices, lie flat on cookie sheets or baking pans, and follow the directions for rising and baking rolls.

Yum! (Photo: Huffygirl)

 

© The author and Huffygirl’s Blog, 2010 to 3010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to the author and Huffygirl’s Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

12 thoughts on “Hearty pumpkin rolls

  1. Seeing as how I am the cook in the family, I will set this aside and give it a try come Holiday time. We all love Pumpkin bread. Thanks!

  2. Yum. I, too, am gonna add this one to the list of things I’ll make one day. Thanks for sharing. Where did this recipe come from?
    ps. you left out the word “flour” after the first listing of white flour.

    • Thanks for the correction Zahara – fixed it.

      The recipe was originally in a food column in my local paper, but they didn’t credit where it came from. I wanted to credit the paper that printed it, but the recipe had some things that just didn’t work that I had to correct, so I wasn’t sure about crediting it once I had changed it. I hope it turns out for you.

    • A batch of pumpkin rolls for an autographed copy of your book? 🙂 Do you think they’d stay fresh in the mail? Might have to overnight them.

      You must stay with your writing for more than 3 hours at a time, don’t you?

  3. Sounds like a fair trade. 🙂

    I am not a writer who sticks to a schedule. Gasp. Please catch the people fainting around you. 😉

    Sometimes the words flow and I write most of the day. But if I’m not feeling the love, I don’t force myself. To me, writing isn’t just when I put pen to paper. It’s what happens in my head when I’m engaged in some other activity, like a long walk on a gorgeous day, or when I’ve washed my left knee seven times in the shower because I was so lost in a scene that I couldn’t remember if I’d washed it already.

    • Interesting to hear how “real” writers do it. Some day I’m going to take the two chapters of the book I started and get back to it. Nice to know that I don’t have to do it every day!

      Let me know when you’re ready to make the trade!

    • I hope they turn out. The dough can be very sticky, so you need patience while you knead in the extra flour.

      My husband would love the picture of the blueberries at your blog header. Maybe I’ll run into you some time when I visit my niece in Indy!

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

