Darn you Hershey!


Curses Hershey! (Photo: Huffygirl)

Hershey has come up with a new way to eat Hershey’s Kisses. I discovered this recently when my personal grocery slave er shopper came home with a bag of Hershey’s Mini Kisses instead of the standard Hershey’s Kisses by accident. 

Hershey has jumped on the bandwagon of one of two recent food trends. Trend one has been around for a little while – make food portions bigger, or make food “combos” so that buying two foods together is cheaper than just buying one.  https://huffygirl.wordpress.com/2010/09/02/do-you-want-a-gallon-of-soda-with-that-americans-love-affair-with-food/

Mini Kisses, aka The Devil's Tool (Photo: Huffygirl)

Trend two, which is perhaps even more disturbing, is making food smaller. Mini-bagels, 100-calorie snack packs, and mini versions of full size snack foods like mini Oreos, mini M & Ms and, now for your enjoyment, mini Hershey’s Kisses. Making smaller versions of well-known foods actually encourages folks to eat more (and consequently buy more) because, hey they’re so small.

Hershey’s Kisses are an iconic candy. The foil wrapper. The little tab of tissue paper sticking out of the top, that has little purpose, except to litter one’s floor when it goes fluttering out of the wrapper upon opening. I had recently made a rule at my house after finding tiny bits of foil and those little Hershey’s tissues all over the kitchen floor: anyone eating Hershey’s Kisses at my house was required to unwrap the candy over the wastebasket, to cut down on the Hershey’s litter. This actually turned out to be a great Hershey regulator, because you couldn’t just grab a handful of Kisses and wander around the house eating them. That extra step of pulling out the wastebasket and standing there while tediously peeling off the foil wrapper, helped keep our Hershey habits in check. It was too much work to stand there unwrapping Kisses, so I didn’t bother to eat them that much. Until now. The Hershey’s Mini Kisses are UNWRAPPED. Just open the bag, reach in and they’re all ready to eat. Very easy to grab a few, then a handful, then another handful. Heck, why not just carry the bag around with me, since there’s no messy foil, no silly tissue strips. Hershey’s Kisses unplugged. Hershey’s Kisses to go. Hershey’s Kisses: the new addiction.

Well, sorry Hershey.  I don’t need another addiction. I’m already flawed enough. Already have plenty of bad habits. I don’t need another temptation to make me eat more than I need. No more Hershey’s Mini Kisses at my house.

 © The author and Huffygirl’s Blog, 2010 to 3010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to the author and Huffygirl’s Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

19 thoughts on “Darn you Hershey!

  1. Good for you, Huffy. Just keep telling yourself they’re for baking, not snacking. They even provide that helpful picture of the just-baked chocolate chip cookie on the bag in case you forget.

    I’m tired of this shrinking of food, too. It ruins the proportions of things. Like mini Oreos, for example. What’s the deal with that sliver of cream? Even DoubleStuffs don’t have the cream they used to. I need QuadrupleStuffs.

    • QuadrupleStuffs! I love it. If I’m going to indulge in Oreos, I want the full cream experience.

      It’s true that the Hershey Minis are touted for baking, but they’re sold in the CANDY Aisle! I think they’re trying to cash in on the kind of folks who buy chocolate chips for baking but end up eating them instead. Of course that NEVER happens at my house! 🙂

    • I see you are a chef – maybe you ought to invent a dessert that uses Hershey’s Kisses and then you’ll be able to try them. Or do they not have them in England? Thanks for stopping by.

  2. The problem with unwrapping the Hershey kisses over the waste basket is that if one the least bit clumsy one drops both the wrapper and the kiss into the waste basket. Darn. Then fishing it out of the waste basket can be kind of messy and one gets the added attraction of some unkown taste along with the chocolate. Yuk!

  3. Have I told you how much I love chocolate???? And with my diet….I have not had any in 2 weeks….now I am craving a huge bag of those little mini kisses! Aaargggg!! Back to my bike!!

  4. omg….killing myself. Don’t buy the mini kisses! And torture your personal shopper if he buys them. Love the “unwrap over the wastebasket”. Tell hubby, he could actually unwrap over the counter, and then gather them in one sweep into the wastebasket if he is indeed that clumsy!

  5. Reminded me of my ex girlfriend who lives in Texas. She told me once that she loved Kisses chocolate.

    I loved her a lot. Now that she broke up, I’m trying to move on with my life and I’m succeeding a bit. This post reminded me of our old memories. 😦

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

