All right already, I’m going to clean it


Sorry to say, this is my desk (Photo credit: Huffygirl)

My desk that is. My new year’s resolution (besides the usual lose ten pounds, bike faster and longer, and write legibly in the check book) is to clean my desk, and here’s the tricky part  – KEEP IT CLEAN. The biggest obstacle for me  is that I secretly like my desk to be messy. Well, I guess it’s not much of a secret now. My theory is that I get more done when my desk is messy, in part because instead of spending time cleaning my desk, I’m taking care of things that are on my desk. I can find everything I need, because it’s all sitting out too. I’ve heard others who have messy desks say the same –  they get more done working at a messy desk. But here’s the secret: the real reason that I get more done with a messy desk, is that the desk serves as a vehicle of natural selection. Survival of the fittest. Say you put something on your desk that you want to take care of: an article you want to read, a sale catalog from which you need to order, the number of someone you need to call, a manual from a new phone. As more things get piled on the desk, these items get covered until…when you finally clean the desk, the  article to read is no longer pertinent; the sale is over; the person you needed to call has

More messy desk (Huffygirl)

 moved or died, and the phone is broken or replaced. Voila! You saved yourself all that work and the problem took care of itself, all because of your efficient messy desk. Now why would I want to give all that up?

What’s your new year’s resolution? Is there a reason that you don’t REALLY want to do it like me?

© The author and Huffygirl’s Blog, 2010 to 3010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to the author and Huffygirl’s Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 thoughts on “All right already, I’m going to clean it

  1. I have to agree with you about a messy desk. I can’t find anything once I put things away neatly, and then I forget to do them!

    My New Year’s resolution is to write more often. I’m avoiding it by reading other people’s writing instead! 🙂

  2. Every time I put something in a “good place”, I lose it. Maybe I should label one drawer “good place”, then I’ll know where to look.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

