Imagine


The Beatles wave to fans after arriving at Ken...

Image via Wikipedia

Saturday, October 9 was the 70th anniversary of John Lennon’s birth.  I was about 12 years old when the Beatles became music phenoms. As a sheltered kid, I was unaware of the group’s early shenanigans into drugs and bad behavior, and worshiped them only as teen heart-throbs. John Lennon who came from a troubled home and unstable childhood, was the bad boy of the group. Even though Lennon’s bad behavior was somewhat covert in the early Beatles years, I just knew he was up to something and never held the fondness for him as I had for the other Beatles. Later as I grew older and the group’s drug use and misbehaving became more public, I eschewed my fandom of the group and moved on to more mature interests.

Imagine what would have happened had the Beatles not self-destructed?  Despite their foibles, many saw the group’s music as a message of peace and world harmony. Would the world have become a different place had this message of peace continued? Would we not have had the Iraq wars or  9-11? Would our world today be  safer place, a place where people of all races are embraced and treated as one? We’ll never know, but we can imagine…

“…Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world

You may say that I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one ”

John Lennon

2 thoughts on “Imagine

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

