Here’s What I’ve Gotten So Far…


A chocolate-chip cookie.

Image via Wikipedia

I started David Kessler’s book, The End of Overeating, and here’s what I’ve gleaned so far. Food causes daunting struggles for millions of people. Just tune into Oprah, Dr. Phil, The Biggest Loser – you get the idea. Kessler relates a personal experiment where he set out a plate of chocolate chip cookies where he could see them, but tried not to eat them. All afternoon the cookies tempted him. He’d find himself reaching for them without even knowing it. He finally was able to resist, felt  triumphed, and then promptly succumbed to buying a cookie when he stopped for coffee. I haven’t gotten very far into the book yet, but I’ve found out one thing pretty quickly: it will be hard to read this book about people being taunted by food, without feeling taunted by food myself. Kessler’s writing about cookies makes me want cookies. Kessler’s writing about chips makes me want chips. Reading this book could be hazardous to my health and weight. Yet, in the interest of science, illumination, and not wasting the $15.99, I must forge on. But it’s not going to be easy.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

