Home Exercise Equipment Revisited


As a postscript to my earlier series on home exercise equipment, I’ve managed to corral another guest blogger to do a review. Please welcome Aaron King to Huffygirl’s Blog. 

Home Exercise Equipment Review: Tony Horton’s P90X 

Whenever I find myself in a conversation about working out or getting in shape, someone always seems to mention the P90X program. I always wondered what made this particular program so well-known, so notorious. Even the name itself makes it sound exotic and exciting. P90X could be a disease, or a drug, or the name of a galaxy far, far away.

I was one of those guys you always hear about on the infomercials. I had tried a variety of different diet and exercise programs in the past, but none of them had seemed to work. But the buzz surrounding P90x was so big that I decided to order the program and give it a try. A couple of my friends from work were all interested in trying it also, so we decided to begin our 90 day journey together.

When my P90X package arrived, it seemed full of promises and positivity. It was full of congratulatory messages about taking the first step towards a better life and so on: all the standard post-purchase assurance language one would expect. But it also promised to be a lot of hard work. The secret to the program is what P90X calls “muscle confusion.” Another way to look at it would be “diversifying your portfolio of activity”. There are three main ways to stimulate your muscles: pushing and pulling heavy weights, moving rapidly, and holding positions. P90X includes weight lifting, push ups and pull ups, plyometrics and jumping, kickboxing, ab routines and Yoga. Yes Yoga. In this way, every week the muscles are worked in all the major ways.

And so I began. The first thing I noticed: Tony Horton is an absolute nut! He’s got a goofy, quirky personality. Sometimes he acts more like he is hosting a late night TV show than a workout session. He has a crew of different athletes he assembles for each session, and each video has its own style of playful banter. Some of my friends have found it annoying, but I find it to be absolutely hilarious.

The P90X workouts are challenging, and even after almost two years of doing the videos, I still cannot keep up with the athletes on the screen. Slowly and surely I am getting “in the best shape of my life.” Over time, the workouts have become much less intimidating. In fact, I’ve now became addicted to them. If I go a few days without hearing Tony Horton crack a lame joke, I feel like I’m missing a dear friend.

Unfortunately, I was not able to make it through all 90 days of the program. I got to day 78, ended up getting sick and was just too tired to finish. I’ve continued to use it though, although after two years of use, have yet to develop the polished and chiseled body that I was promised.

I have found that by doing at least four of the videos per week, and customizing the program a bit to fit my lifestyle, I can still get the benefits and make slow progress. With this method I have actually lost about 20 pounds over the past four months, my arms have gotten bigger, and I have a lot more flexibility.

I believe that if I keep going with these workouts, I will get there. Maybe 90 days is not enough time for the average user to develop into a chiseled, muscular powerhouse, but calling the program “P2 yearX” is not as catchy of a title. But as workout videos go, P90X is a more comprehensive workout program than just about anything out there. I think If I stick with it and continue to eat healthy, that chiseled body might be just around the corner.

The hardest part of the P90X is finding the time to fit it in. It is between 60 and 90 minutes every day. But if you can decide that being fit, active and healthy is worth your time committment, then P90X will give you a strong return on your time investment.

Aaron King is a “senior book-getter” for Better World Books. He enjoys an active lifestyle.

2 thoughts on “Home Exercise Equipment Revisited

  1. Aaron, thanks for sharing your review. It seems that you’ve found as many others have, that home exercise equipment is helpful, but does not live up to the inflated claims of its advertising.

  2. Pingback: Twitted by aaronkingdotorg

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

