HuffyHow: Home Exercise Equipment Review


Although I’m not recommending one brand of home exercise equipment over another, I thought readers might appreciate the perspective of someone who has tried a home exercise video. Please welcome guest blogger Chris Barry to Huffygirl’s Blog.­ 

********************************************************************************************* 

Chris Barry

 

 Okay, I’ll admit that when I saw the Tony Horton’s 10-Minute Trainer infomercial at 3 AM, I was as skeptical as probably every other bleary-eyed insomniac watching infomercials in the middle of the night. But desperate times called for desperate measures. So one night, I whipped out the credit card and made a late-night eBay purchase of Tony Horton’s 10-Minute Trainer. 

 Up through my late 20’s, I’d kept in pretty good shape by running three or four miles and lifting weights three or four times per week. But when I reached the big 3-0, my metabolism informed me (via email as I recall) that it was going to work part-time. Shortly thereafter, my childhood asthma returned, my daughter was born, and my wife went back to school full-time to finish her MBA. I found myself working all day, taking care of my daughter at night, and stealing a few hours of sleep in between watching infomercials while holding a screaming baby. My once fairly fit body now hovered around 144 pounds. And when you’re 5’5 ½” on a good day, every pound counts. 

 My expectations when I purchased the 10-Minute Trainer were pretty low. I wanted a way to fit in some exercise around my daughter’s sleeping schedule and get back under 140 pounds. Luckily, the product far exceeded my expectations. 

 The original 10-minute trainer basically consists of a resistance band and five workouts on DVD—Total Body, Cardio, Lower Body, Abs, and Yoga Flex. They also advertise a diet plan, but it’s sort of weak. And frankly, if you’re spending the 80 bucks for a diet plan, you’re making the wrong decision. Save your money, go online, and buy a $12 cookbook. 

 I still remember putting in that first DVD and thinking I’d “do a little cardio” workout. Ten minutes later I was gasping for breath on the couch. See, the magic of these ten minute workouts is that they’re super-intense. In every exercise, you’re working multiple muscle groups AND doing cardio. I’ll admit, I struggled at first just to get through the workouts (though as previously noted, I was kind of slob) but I committed to doing each workout every week. After two weeks, I saw a noticeable difference. One day I was changing my shirt after a workout and my wife noted, “You’re looking slim and trim!” Score one for Tony, and for me. 😉 

 Four months later, I was feeling great. My pants were falling off, so I had to buy 31” jeans, which I’ve never purchased before. And I would take my shirt off at random times for no reason. The best surprise though happened when I went to the doctor, stepped on the scale, and was officially charted at 130 pounds—a number I hadn’t hit since I was 24. 

 Since then, I’ll admit I’ve fallen off the wagon a few times. The workouts do get repetitive and Tony is a little cheesy, but Beachbody recently released a deluxe version with nine new workouts that helped me get back on track. These days, I hover around 132 pounds, I pocket my $38 gym membership every month, and I don’t have to watch sweaty old men walk around naked at the gym. Score one for Tony, and for me. 

 Chris Barry is a marketing professional and sometimes freelance writer who lives with his beautiful wife and daughter in Chicago.  

Disclosure: Huffygirl, Huffygirl’s Blog and Chris Barry have no association with Tony Horton and his exercise series, and do not receive any benefits from recommending this product.

© The author and Huffygirl’s Blog, 2010 to 3010. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to the author and Huffygirl’s Blog with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Don't leave yet. Tell me what's on your mind.

